13
May
09

1970 OLDSMOBILE 442 FOR SALE!!! CHEAP!!!

442I was driving one evening and spotted an old unrestored looking 1970 Oldsmobile 442 sitting in someone’s back yard. I made a U-turn and went to the house to speak to the owner about it. There wasn’t a for sale sign on it, but I wondered why someone would let a car like that just rot away. The owner said the car had not been driven in 15 years, and hadn’t been started in 5 years. I asked him if he’d be interested in selling it and he told me he’d take $1,500 for the car. He and I walked out to the back yard, so I could further inspect the car and as soon as I saw it up close, I could instantly tell it was a true 100 percent complete 1970 442. The car looked like it had been sitting for 15 years, but it had a very straight, unwrecked body. I took the battery off of my H/O that I was driving that day and put it on the 442. I also noticed this 442 had the correct “F” heads on the 455. The guy got in it and turned the key while I gave it some gas on the carb, and it fired right up after 5 years of not being started! I promised the guy I would write an article about the car and let everyone know it is for sale.

4 Responses to “1970 OLDSMOBILE 442 FOR SALE!!! CHEAP!!!”


  1. 1 addison
    June 14, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    well it isnt an 1970 the 1970’s had ovals in the grills that ran up and down

    • 2 quincyolds455
      June 27, 2009 at 5:08 pm

      I stopped and inspected this car rather close and it’s actually a real 1970 442 that someone did a grill swap on for the 1971 grill.

  2. 3 lookin4a70442
    July 16, 2009 at 12:28 am

    Is this car still for sale and if so, where can it be seen?

    • 4 quincyolds455
      July 16, 2009 at 7:34 pm

      I actually went ahead and bought it last week. It’s now in the shop getting the 455 rebuilt. I’ll post it on Craigslist and Ebay, after it’s finished.


Leave a Reply

